DC’s latest Hanna-Barbera comic reimagines Snagglepuss as ‘Gay, Southern Gothic Playwright’

oenjaumabotvaq51rvit

I don’t know why, but lately Hanna-Barbera hasn’t failed to surprise me by any announcement that they’ve made or comics they’ve produced–apocalyptic Scooby Doo or a politically aware Flinstones gang, bring ’em on. This last one has admittedly surprised me.

Hanna-Barbera has decided to make Snagglepuss into a gay, southern gothic playwright. Writers are pulling their sleeves up to call down upon the powers of Tennessee Williams to give this character all the pizzazz they’ll need, but Snagglepuss already has such a large following I’m sure they won’t need too much help for this particular series. I love Snagglepuss, but I’ve always felt that he was too much like all the character’s that writer Mark Russel wants to envision him as:

Russell spoke with HiLoBrow in an interview stating that it “was not much of a stretch” to make Snagglepuss into what he wanted: “I envision him like a tragic Tennessee Williams figure; Huckleberry Hound is sort of a William Faulkner guy, they’re in New York in the 1950s, Marlon Brando shows up, Dorothy Parker, these socialites of New York from that era come and go. I’m looking forward to it.”

I’m looking forward to it as well, and I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy.

Leave a Reply

