Count your blessings, folks.

1487266_262897253885244_1570335657_n

(Grandma Marcia on the far right)

I’ve always been the sensitive one in my family.

I’ve never really seen it as a “problem”. At least not the “problem”. My grandma was diagnosed with breast cancer last year, and I was the last one to find out about it.

At the time I was about a 5 hour drive from my family in Illinois working at a newspaper in Kentucky. It wasn’t far, but it was the farthest that I’ve been from home.

I’ve always been close to my grandparents because they lived so close to me growing up. It was wonderful and I loved every moment of spending time at grandma and grandpa’s house. My parents didn’t want me to worry so they waited to tell me the news… but didn’t I have a right to know what was going on?

I remember first learning about the diagnosis while I was at home visiting. I cried because I thought that this was it. I might lose my grandma. She’s such a beautiful, caring person, and I can’t lose her. As the months went by she began chemotherapy. I could see it taking it’s toll on her. She lost her hair, and she was the most devastated by this. I’m not sure if the diagnosis affected her the way losing her hair did. It became this real tangible illness after it happened.

She lost weight, and we were worried for such a long time because how do you comfort someone. There are no words to say when someone has cancer. Nothing that you say can make it go away. You can use prayer and positive thoughts… but it is a thing that doesn’t react to human interaction.

I think the worst part of cancer is how alone the person must feel. If you haven’t experienced it then… how do you comfort someone that has?

The good news is that my grandma is cancer free. She’s a beautiful soul that has longer on Earth to teach me and hug me.

My childhood best friend’s mom was just diagnosed with Stage 4 bone and lung cancer. I have no words for the sorrow that she feels. I can’t even try to make it better with words because there are none. If you know someone battling this just give them a hug and listen to them. That’s the important part is just being there to show that you love them and support them in this fight.

Leave a Reply

