I love Nintendo. I love all things Nintendo. Zelda: A Link Between Worlds.

Ah, beautiful fellow bloggers. It’s lovely to be back to the blogging world.

It has been far too long since I last put my fingers on my keyboard. Seriously, my keyboard was starting to accumulate dust from my absence. And I have severe OCD where I clean way too much. And tie my shoes seven times. It’s a problem.

Anyways, I finally broke down and bought a 3DS. I didn’t want to, but I stared longingly at it and before I knew it I was unwrapping it and my fingers were playing endless hours of portable gaming.

I love Nintendo. I love all things Nintendo.If I could marry it I would.

Unfortunately marrying inanimate objects is still considered “weird.”

Marriage-Proposal-For-All-Nintendo-Fans4

So let’s talk about the greatest game ever. Okay, maybe not the greatest game, but one of my top five favorite games. (Kingdom Hearts is number one, hands down).

The first Legend of Zelda game that was made exclusively for the Nintendo 3DS begins in the world of The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past, and uses 3D abilities to allow Link to become a drawing that moves along walls to save the princess.

That’s a cool concept, and your sword is pretty bad ass in The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds if you’re not a fan of that then this may not be the game for you.

The game tossed me into a familiar realm of chaos and nostalgia. I inhaled it deeply and couldn’t help but smile. This was exactly what I was looking for with the newest Zelda expansion. It was like going home and smelling my mom’s chocolate chip cookies. Actually, it was like smelling a home-cooked meal during Christmas break after living off of pizza, Monster energy drinks and Taco Bell for four years in college.

The landscape is still the familiar oversimplified brown rocks and green grass shrubs that we all came to love in the original game but the color of the landscape is created with much brighter quality and clarity in this edition. It’s visually appealing, yet simplistic enough to appreciate in 3D if you happen to own the 3DS.

I haven’t had a chance to play the game all the way through, but so far what I have seen I adore. The puzzles and dungeons are challenging and at times infuriating. But just  set the game down for a bit and enjoy a nice cup of coffee while you ponder ways to beat it.

One thing I noticed right away is the ability to shoot arrows in multiple directions, instead of the standard choice of just in front of you. You can turn Link slightly to an angle to hit a target. It’s convenient and adds an element that I didn’t even realize was missing from the original game.

There are also a million items to choose from! Okay, I exaggerated a little about that number. You’ve got bombs, boomerangs, bows and bracelets with each one being unique to a certain dungeon. You can find other helpful items like the hint glasses hidden within levels and dungeons.

There’s also the ability to fast-travel to different destinations. An adorable witch takes you on her broom to far off lands and all you have to do is ring the bell. It’s like saying, “Hey slave. Bring me my tea and crumpets.”

Exactly.

The-Legend-of-Zelda-A-Link-Between-Worlds-Nintendo

THE VERDICT
And the winner is…

The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds is clearly one of the best puzzle games that I will probably ever get my hands on again.

This could have been a complete bust by Nintendo, but I think the use of the classic landscape and Link’s ability to move when shooting arrows made it unique. It had just enough of the old to make it nostalgic, while adding awesome new features to keep it enticing for new fans.

Thank you Nintendo for putting a wonderful new spin on a beloved classic.

url

 

 

Leave a Reply

